Sunday Afternoon Ramblings

What a great day for worship at Debra Heights Wesleyan! Here are some thoughts on the whole day.

First, I want to apologize for the lack of bulletins. Last week, I had purchased a new ink cartridge. After installing it, it ran part of the bulletins, but then the copy machine displayed a message about the ink cartridge being bad and stopped working. This week, hoping it was just a bad cartridge, I replaced it again. Everything had looked great, and it had printed a number of pages for me, but after just one side of the bulletins, it died again with the same message. When it had worked initially, I had relaxed, thinking it was just a faulty cartridge. Otherwise, I would have had plenty of time to get to Target and purchase a replacement. So I apologize!

On a more positive note, this morning’s fellowship time was awesome! The doughnuts, muffins, cookies, and apple slices were well above and beyond what is called for, especially given that Pat and Marie K were providing essentially on their own. Thank you, Pat and Marie!

I was also very pleased with our greeters this morning. If you didn’t notice them, Keith I and Donna A were stationed at the main entrances to the church to greet people and help them find their way this morning. They did an excellent job! If you would like to join the greeter team, please let me know! We’re going to have a training session here in a couple of weeks (look for details this coming Sunday) so that we can be sure to welcome people – regulars and, more importantly, guests – as they arrive. Essentially, their task will be to greet people as they come through the doors, make sure that they find where newcomers are comfortable and find where they need to be, and be prepared to respond to any hazardous situation that may arise (e.g., weather, fire, security).

On to the service itself, I was blessed by the ministry of Adoration this morning. The three songs in their set drew my attention to the Lord, reminding that we have come into the sanctuary and this faith to worship. Our entire lives are to be an act of worship to the Lord!

As for the message, I hope that it was both challenging and encouraging to everyone who heard it today. The truth is, I was incredibly challenged by it this week as I prepared. The fact is that, even (especially?) as a pastor, it’s easy to get bogged down in either the to-do lists of things that have to get done to be an “effective” pastor and the stereotypes that “successful” ministry means megachurch ministry, etc., OR to spend all of my time immersing myself in the word and prayer to the absolute exclusion of those things. The passage reminded me that, to be in the Lord, I have to be fruitful, and to be fruitful, I have to be in the Lord. I.e., the two go hand-in-hand, and I cannot afford to neglect one or the other. Also, it was incredibly encouraging for me that, even though He didn’t really provide a step-by-step how-to to be effective in life and ministry for the Lord, He did make clear that, if we will foster that personal relationship with him and strive to bear fruit – godly life, godly impact, and raising up more godly people – we will be effective. Again, as I said this morning, there was no maybe about this; it was an absolute certainty. And again, as I said this morning, the promise wasn’t that we would bear a little fruit, or even some, but much. That is exciting to me because it means that all I have to do is be the man that God has created and called me to be, do what I can to make an impact on the world and lives around me, and bearing fruit will be the natural outcome of it all.

So those are some thoughts about the service today. Before I close this evening, I do want to take a few moments to draw your attention to a few things coming up. The first, obviously, is the luau-themed pot-luck that’s coming up this next Sunday, March 14. I am really looking forward to this because it’s looking to be a lot of fun. I hope that you will make plans to join us! Make sure that you dress for the occasion! If you can bring a dish to share, that’s great, but please don’t feel like you have to. We are far more concerned that you just come!

Second, with spring coming, it’s time to start thinking about what you’re going to be doing this summer. I would like to recommend that you at least consider checking out one or more of the awesome camps at our district campgrounds, Cedar Springs Camp, in Floyd, Iowa. Cedar Springs’ schedule is packed with great opportunities for spiritual growth, fellowship, and just plain relaxation, starting with two youth camps coming up right away in June, Kid’s Camp the first part of July, and Family Camp the second part of July. If you would like more information about any of these opportunities, just let me know. One bit of warning, though: the cabins are already filling up for Family Camp, so if you want to have a roof over your head (that you didn’t bring with you), you really need to be thinking about this soon!

Speaking of camp and the start of the camping season, another thing that we need to start thinking about is the Upper Cabin. As you are probably aware, last year, we moved to adopt this beautiful cabin at Cedar Springs as a ministry to the district and all those that happen to come through. Last year, the LBA spent a day working at the Upper Cabin and identified a number of projects that needed to be done. Nicole, the kids and I also spent a weekend there in late August and did a few more odds and ends. This spring, we want to hit the ground running. A couple of things that I think need to be done right away include the replacement of the lighting fixtures throughout the cabin with track lighting, the finishing of a cabinet area for the electrical box, fixing of some leakage around the shower area, and some more permanent repairs to the crawlspace door. If you are interested in helping us tackle any of these projects, please let me know! I want to be organizing a work trip as soon as possible!

And finally, a heads up about a couple of things that are coming in the very near future. Sometime when the snow is finally gone and things start to firm up a little, we want to have a block party for the community. To prepare for this, we’re going to do some canvassing of the neighborhoods surrounding the church. We’ll have dates and times ready for you in a couple of weeks, so keep your eyes and ears open (i.e., watch the announcements looping on the screen before and after the service!). Our hope is that this will increase our visibility and ministry to the immediate area surrounding the church, but we’re going to need everyone’s help to make it happen!

In closing, I want to say, again, what a tremendous privilege it is to pastor Debra Heights Wesleyan. We may be a “small” church, but God is doing some really great things in our midst! And as we strive to reach our community and our world even more effectively in the coming weeks and months, I trust that we will indeed bear the fruit that is the natural outcome of a fervent, intimate, personal relationship with our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

So there you have it. Some of the things going on in my head today! Again, if you were there, it was awesome to worship with you this morning! If you weren’t there, then we certainly missed you! Join us next week! And who knows; you may even get to see some people in grass skirts at the luau!

(Scratch that last statement if you’re a district or denominational official 🙂 )

2 Responses to “Sunday Afternoon Ramblings”


  1. 1 Roger Metcalf March 8, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    Consider the last statement scratched.

  2. 2 Roger Metcalf March 8, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    Ha Ha!!


Leave a Reply

