Sunday Afternoon Ramblings (Monday Edition)

What a tremendous morning of worship yesterday! Here are some thoughts.

First, I think many heard that Bekah has a mild case of pneumonia which kept her and Nicole from joining us yesterday. Your prayers on behalf of Bekah and Andrew, who is running a fever this morning, are very much appreciated!

Of course, Nicole’s absence necessitated a few changes to the worship service. I want to thank her for taking the time to record the piano for all of the songs we sang! Thanks go to Adoration for being willing to roll with the punches and doing a wonderful job even without the piano! And thanks to everyone for bearing with us as I know the sound on the recording was less than perfect. As the song says, God’s looking for more than a song, and yesterday, there was a spirit of worship in the sanctuary.

I should also take a moment to say thanks to everyone for contributing to John Jenkins’ benefit fund. If you have not heard about John’s situation or you were unable to give during our love offering yesterday, you can read the whole story on our website. Together, God used us to raise $250 for the Jenkins family in this difficult time. Thank you for your faithfulness and generosity!

Yesterday’s message was a big deal for me. As I prepared, I found myself realizing that I need to work on each of the areas discussed. There are moments when I slip and use God’s name carelessly or casually, instances where I allow myself to make (or even think) disparaging comments in anger or frustration or just outright cruelness, and times when I “exaggerate” or distort the truth for any number of reasons. The power of the three commandments which we discussed yesterday – thou shalt not use the Lord your God’s name in vain, thou shalt not murder, and thou shalt not bear false testimony – is that I must not allow myself to compromise in any of these areas. If you missed the message, take a look at the sermon resources available on our website.

Lastly this morning, I want to take a moment to thank those who came out to help unhang the greens. For one or two people, this is a tremendous job, but as the saying goes, many hands makes little work. Plus, the time of food and fellowship was wonderful.

So there you have it. Some thoughts about yesterday’s different services. Thank you for the tremendous privilege of ministering to and with you!

0 Responses to “Sunday Afternoon Ramblings (Monday Edition)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

