New church website

So I’m working on a new website for Debra Heights Wesleyan Church, and I’m looking for ideas. Quite frankly, I’m sick of the “hey, look, we’re a church” websites that most congregations roll. So consider this your three-question poll!

  1. What are the coolest features you’ve ever seen on a website?
  2. What do you think would be a killer thing to have on a church website?
  3. What is the greatest website, church or non-church, you’ve ever seen? (And don’t say Facebook. Seriously.)

Answer in the comments section below!

1 Response to “New church website”


  1. 1 Charles Bryant October 14, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    I think church sites need a revival too.

    The coolest feature is a hard question. To me the way in which churches use common features is what makes a feature cool. I have seen searchable video libraries that allow user to build playlists, interactive learning environments, features to help ingrain a Sunday message with online notes and tools to help implement the Word into your life. I guess a cool feature would depend on the mission of the church and the ability of the church to promote and maintain the feature.

    A killer thing I just heard about on forwardleadership.com (http://forwardleadership.org/blog/?p=989&cpage=1#comment-3899) is the ability to allow the congregation use their mobile phones to post questions during a sermon. The questions would be answered after the sermon and I guess if there is a lot of them they would be answered online after service.

    #3 is absolutely too difficult a question for me. I have seen many amazing sites. I did find these lists interesting:

    http://vandelaydesign.com/blog/galleries/best-church-websites/

    http://www.sermoncentral.com/articleb.asp?article=Top-100-Largest-Churches

    Anyway, keep me posted on the project. I’d love to see what you come up with.


Leave a Reply

