Sunday Afternoon Ramblings

Can I just say that I love getting together to worship with our church family?

I had to get that out of the way before I went on.

That said, today was a great day of worship at Debra Heights! The worship team did a great job (as usual), and once we got past the slide confusion at the very beginning of the set, things seemed to click.

A couple of things that I would mention here. We tried something different with the greeting time, doing it right at the beginning of the service. I liked this much better than taking a break in the middle of the worship set. I think we’ll tweak it a little over the coming weeks to make it a little smoother, but I certainly thought it helped to build an atmosphere more conducive to focusing on God, which is what worship is all about!

Pastor Sharon did an excellent job with our testimony time. As I have said before, I would never want to discourage sharing among the fellowship, but in the worship service, I think it essential that we share new lessons and victories which we have found while plumbing the depths of Scripture and prayer.

I was also pleased after the service with the number of people who indicated they had gleaned something useful from the message. This morning’s message, from 1 Samuel 16, has become something of a personal anthem for me this week for a number of reasons. I picked up a lot from it, and I’m glad others did, too.

So, all in all, we had a great Sunday at Debra Heights. Thank you to all who helped, including Adoration, Pastor Sharon, and Donna A. Your labors are key to our success as a church. Keep doing a great job!

One more thing before I close. This will come as something of a shocker to some. Following the recent resignation of Pastor Darren Waite, our sister church, Grace Wesleyan, voted today to close. In the next few weeks and months, the Grace congregation will be transformed into the core group of the new Radiant Church, of which we heard two weeks ago when Rev. Jon Wiest shared with us. As of right now, the plan is that the new congregation will continue meeting for a time in the Grace Wesleyan facility, but by this time next year, they will be moving to the Copper Creek Theater in Pleasant Hill. The facility will be utilized in other ways until a new church can be planted back into it at some point in the near future.

To be honest, I am disappointed with this decision. I had very much looked forward to having three churches working together toward effectively reaching the Des Moines area. However, I trust today that God’s plan is perfect, and His will is right. So I look forward to seeing what He will do through this new congregation, and I pray that He will be glorified as we work together to advance His kingdom, raise His name, and go forth into the world to make disciples, baptizing them and teaching them to obey all that Jesus has commanded us.

So, here we are at the end of September, with just three months remaining in 2009. As we enter the last quarter of the calendar year, I would challenge you over the next week or so to start considering where you are spiritually. Have you accomplished the faith goals you set for yourself at the beginning of the year? Have you worked on them? You still have three months to get busy!

And on that note… I’ve said before, and I’ll say it again! God is doing amazing things in our church, and I firmly believe He’s gearing up to do much, much more!

1 Response to “Sunday Afternoon Ramblings”


  1. 1 Keith Isley September 28, 2009 at 12:08 am

    Jeremy –

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I, too, was disappointed by the decision of the Grace church, and I fear that some will be hurt by the dislocation, and may find themselves feeling abandoned as things move forward … but in the end, it was Grace’s decision – and God’s – and (as in the sermon today) I have to trust that God is working out his plan, regardless of my human perspective. Thanks for preaching that today; it’s just what I needed to hear.


Leave a Reply

