Sunday Afternoon Ramblings

So, it’s always a great time when Debra Heights Wesleyan gets together to worship. Even better when that is preluded by 30+ minutes of fellowship (and food). And even better yet when God is so wonderfully present in our midst!

First of all, as always, I am so grateful to all those who help us execute the services and ministries around the church. I want to thank Norma Welch and Steve Hale for putting together a marvelous fellowship breakfast today. Thanks go also to Greta Aalbers for helping in the nursery during the Sunday School hour, and to Jeremy Morris for sitting in the nursery during the worship hour. Adoration (the worship team) did an excellent job, as usual. And I want to thank Keith Isley for helping with the Keynote slides. Many people may not realize that he essentially runs the slideshow for the Scripture reading and hymns that we sing. He picked that up of his own volition, just to be useful, and I appreciate it.

Before we go on, I have to give a shout to Pastor Sharon. She’s came down with some bacterial infection (I’m not even going to try to say which one) this week, and she’s been very sick much of the week. I’m sure you’ll join me in praying for her speedy and complete recovery! I especially missed her because she was supposed to speak today, so when she called the other day to say she didn’t know if she would be able to make it, I had to put the sermon for two weeks out onto the fast track.

On to this morning. As mentioned, Adoration did a great job. I fervently believe that they add so much to our service, drawing us all into an attitude of worship, and from the feedback I’ve heard, most seem to agree. I love the song, “Days of Elijah,” their first song this morning. It reminds me every time that I hear it that we are living at a kairos – Greek for appointed time or season – moment in history. God has huge plans for each of us individually – and all of us together!

One thing about the opening worship set has concerned me for some time: that when we turn to greet each other, we have a tendency to forget all about God and turn worship into ten minutes of socialization. Now, far be it from me to ruin the fellowship that we have as a church, but when we come to worship, our priority must be ascribing glory and honor – worth – to God. Fellowship can happen before or after the service (the doors to the church open by about 8:20 am most Sundays and will stay open as long as there are people around!), especially on days when we have our monthly fellowship hour before Sunday School. Please help me to make our worship hour about God first and foremost. He is worthy!

I am excited to see our new projector installed, hopefully in the next week. I very literally almost cried the other day when I missed the FedEx delivery. How much more frustrating that I won’t really get to use it for a message for at least two weeks, with Jon Wiest coming next Sunday.

Speaking of Jon and Katie Wiest. If you don’t know who they are, they’ve been appointed by the District Board of Administration to plant a new Wesleyan congregation somewhere on the eastern side of the metro area. As is often the case with church plants, these things are still very fluid. Pray with me that God will make himself clear and that we will be obedient to His call!

Today was a great day of worship, and the fact that there were 49 in the service was simply icing on the cake. I am excited to see how God is moving in and through our church, and as we discussed during today’s message, I’m eager to see Him do even more! We have only to step out boldly on faith to be obedient to His spectacular, unprecedented call.

1 Response to “Sunday Afternoon Ramblings”


  1. 1 Keith Isley September 7, 2009 at 3:15 am

    It was a great service today! I love Debra Heights’ sweet spirit of unity and mutual support, and the good preaching/teaching (both morning and evening). I can sense myself growing spiritually, and it’s a welcome feeling.


Leave a Reply

